(WIP) Gradual Romance

Started by Nationality, November 26, 2019, 06:00:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nationality

NEW UPDATE 17/12, see latest changelog in thread.

Hi, I've been silently working on this mod for a little while now - without writing an essay, it's a total overhaul of how romantic relationships work in Rimworld. I've tested it with a bunch of mods and it seems reasonably functional right now. However, I'm an amateur coder, and this is my first major mod ever, so it probably could use the eyes of people who are more experienced. It definitely needs more work, with a few missing planned features.

FEATURES --
* Adds four new relationship stages (Lovebuddy, Sweetheart, Paramour, Boyfriend/Girlfriend).
* Adds a flirt mechanic, sort of like RomanceAttempt, but less risky if you fail. Pawns are encouraged to try romance attempts after successful flirts, and discouraged by bad ones. Each flirt has entertaining, flavorful descriptions based on the Pawn's traits and personality.
* Adds an "ask to move in" interaction
* Changes everything about how romantic attraction works, and gives hints on what pawns like/dislike about each other every time they flirt/romance. Greedy colonists, as an example, prefer colonists with really nice bedrooms. In addition, it is much easier to add new attraction factors and exposes a lot of functionality in the Defs.
* Supports alien races and autopatches them to be compatible.
* Requires Psychology by The Word Mule. (Most likely incompatible with Rational Romance)

PLANNED FEATURES --
* More depth to ongoing relationships and breakups, such as quarreling.
* Secret affairs.
* Lovin' outside of bed.
* Crushes, romantic rivalries, obsessions, and other fun stuff.

I will be pretty busy for the next few days, which is why I wanted to post this now, so I can get some feedback, so I apologize if I don't respond immediately.

https://github.com/NationalityNZ/Gradual_Romance-Rimworld-mod

5thHorseman