Ludeon Forums

Ludeon Forums

  • December 15, 2019, 06:14:41 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: application has been blocked from accessing graphics hardware  (Read 224 times)

kenter09

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
application has been blocked from accessing graphics hardware
« on: December 01, 2019, 05:10:29 PM »

running into a application has been blocked from accessing the graphics card
i am running a iris plus gpu from the new intel 10th gen icelake chip and cant get it to run i reinstalled the drivers deleted the registry for rimworld and reinstalled the game i for the life of me cant figure out what to do about it. i have included the output log file from rimworld as an attachment.
intel i7 1065g7
iris plus gpu 4gig vram
hopeing someone can help me figure it out.
Logged

Canute

  • Transcendent
  • *****
  • Posts: 7886
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: application has been blocked from accessing graphics hardware
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2019, 05:22:58 PM »

Hi,
i would try to update the drivers at first, maybe that allready helps.
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/29195/Intel-Graphics-Windows-10-DCH-Drivers
Not 100% if this is the right one, you need to check self.
Logged

kenter09

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: application has been blocked from accessing graphics hardware
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2019, 05:34:49 PM »

running latest drivers available
Logged

ReZpawner

  • Super Tester
  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 549
  • Crafter of Hats
    • View Profile
Re: application has been blocked from accessing graphics hardware
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2019, 06:23:01 PM »

From what I hear, this means that some unity graphics settings are screwy (usually something to do with active window). Have you checked your configs?
Not sure where it is in Windows 10, but in Windows 7 it's in %appdata%\..\LocalLow\Ludeon Studios\RimWorld by Ludeon Studios\config
Have a look at the prefs.xml file, and try changing <fullscreen>True</fullscreen> to <fullscreen>False</fullscreen> and see if that helps.

Edit: Someone else who had the same\similar problems: https://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?topic=26517.msg268946#msg268946
« Last Edit: December 01, 2019, 06:25:48 PM by ReZpawner »
Logged

kenter09

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: application has been blocked from accessing graphics hardware
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2019, 10:43:07 PM »

still no luck i tried forcing opengl and dx11 and it just threw a error
Logged

Canute

  • Transcendent
  • *****
  • Posts: 7886
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: application has been blocked from accessing graphics hardware
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2019, 03:11:50 AM »

You are sure you was running the latest driver ?
The logfile show
[igdumdim64.dll 25.20.100.7102]
and the website
Version: 26.20.100.7463 (Latest)
or do you use the  Intel® Driver & Support Assistant tool that tell you that you got the latest ?
Logged

kenter09

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: application has been blocked from accessing graphics hardware
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2019, 12:16:03 PM »

i have since updated the drivers and still have the issue intel given drivers are not compatible with the xps 13 2 in 1 and use custom drivers from dell. i have posted a new log
Logged

Canute

  • Transcendent
  • *****
  • Posts: 7886
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: application has been blocked from accessing graphics hardware
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2019, 03:38:46 PM »

Ok, thanks for the update.
I found this thread
https://forum.unity.com/threads/handled3ddevicelost.126320/
The devs wrote
Quote
You can run single-threaded by using a command line switch: -force-gfx-st
and it looks like it helped someone who got the problem.
You should edit your shortcut to start Rimworld and add "-force-gfx-st" right behind the .exe without the "".

But it is definitiv a Unity problem with your video card.

« Last Edit: December 02, 2019, 03:42:16 PM by Canute »
Logged

kenter09

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: application has been blocked from accessing graphics hardware
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2019, 08:36:55 PM »

so i tried what was on the forums i agree that its a problem with unity and my gpu. im also going to poke people over on the unity forums.
Logged

kenter09

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: application has been blocked from accessing graphics hardware
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2019, 11:11:44 AM »

the folks at unity are more or less useless apparently as i have gotten no reply on their end.
Logged