[1.0, 1.1] Some finished animal-related mods - New to modding!

Started by Moogie, March 30, 2020, 04:00:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Moogie

Hi! I thought I would dip my toes in to some simple modding. I put this here instead of Releases, because even though I've been using these in my own game and they seem to work fine, I don't yet have the confidence to throw them out there and declare them worthy of being added to people's saves. I'm very new to all this. They also don't have proper Preview pngs yet.

I also don't know about compatibility with 1.0. I think they should work in 1.0? But my entire playing experience has been in 1.1, so... I dunno! That's why I'd like some brave testers to try it out before releasing these properly.

I'm new to Rimworld in general, but I can't resist tweaking stuff to my liking. A lifetime of Bethesda games instilled that in me, I guess. ;D

So, here is what I'm offering today:

Animal Litters makes it so that, wherever it makes sense to do so, vanilla animals generally produce litters and egg clutches rather than just 1-2 offpsring and single egg per pregnancy. I didn't let the numbers be too extreme, for gameplay purposes, but it's obviously still going to have an impact on game balance. Mainly, I was thinking about players like me who enjoy the idea of being ranchers/farmers, but were frustrated by needing to keep a big group of hungry adult animals around just for a decent supply of new meat or eggs. With this, you'll only need a few adults, and when the babies grow up, you can batch-slaughter most of them immediately.