High CPU Usage on World Tab

Started by lampp, February 06, 2020, 07:21:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lampp

Hello. This is my first time using the forums, so I apologize if I don't post this correctly.

I'm having a really odd issue with the world tab lagging the game incredibly badly. The game runs about three seconds behind where it should be, and my CPU quickly shoots to 100%. Moving past the issue and selecting a colony location lets the game run normally, and I can play with no difference in lag. However, the problem rearrises when I go back to the world tab, whereas it's just as bad as before. Closing it out gives similar results to leaving the location selection. This isn't doesn't occur when I'm at any other screen; only the world menu.

I've checked task manager to make sure it was just RimWorld; it is. I've done a reinstall, and the issue has persisted, with no mods installed. There is no error code on the debug screen, and everything looks normal there. I've played RimWorld on this computer for about 300 hours - this issue has only come up now. I haven't had any hardware issues, and other games run perfectly.

I'm going to continue trying to see what the issue is, and if I find out, I'll be sure to post it. Otherwise, help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Canute

Hi,
when you have no error and don't use mods, there isn't much we can do here.
Just test it at my side, at the world map the CPU load is even a bit lower then when i am on the colony map.
So it is very odd issue indeed.
Maybe an issue with lately updated video/sound driver or an OS update.

Since you said you did reinstall it allready, you can try to delete the Config folder (area where the safegames are) to reset them to default.
And if you played with a different language maybe try engl.

Good lucky to find the issue.

lampp