New to modding Rimworld but have some problems...

Started by KatsPurr, February 28, 2020, 02:04:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KatsPurr

Hey folks!

So my ultimate goal: Add new custom graphics for characters and possibly animals as well, either by replacing the standard set or adding additional animals and character faces, clothes, hairs etc

I'm an artist, not a programmer. So although I can't code, I understand enough about digging into an XML file to modify things like file names, or RGB values etc - especially by watching a tutorial. But anything beyond that is a mystery to me.

So I found a tutorial on YouTube which seemed to be the perfect thing for at least "replacing" graphics:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8th_bVY-Ja0

And I started to follow the instructions, it looked pretty easy. But then the tutorial shows how you go into the XML files under \Mods\Core\Defs. But the problem is that my \Mods\Core\ folder is completely empty. No sub folders, no files. I even tried reinstalling Rimworld and also tried verifying the game files. It didn't help! It's still empty!

So I guess the question is: Is the folder supposed to be empty? Maybe the guy copied the files over from the \Data\Core\ folder into that one, and just didn't include it in the tutorial?

Second question: So what if I want to create additional faces, hair, bodies etc that don't replace the originals, but instead just add to the mix. How do you do that? Or does it require programming?

Any help would be much appreciated!

LWM

Hehe.  I was confused at first too.

Look at the "Core" folder in "Data" not "Mods" - that should have what you're looking for?

KatsPurr

Hey LWM and thank you for responding and trying to help!