Looking for Mod Collaborator: Gladiator Armor Set

Started by Adrian_Alastair, June 09, 2020, 07:12:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Adrian_Alastair

Gladiator Armor Set

Sprite preview: https://imgur.com/BgZ4RY1

Hi guys, this is an armor set that I've been working on for the past week. They work perfectly fine as a re-texture, but I would love them to be more than just that. I have zero coding knowledge, doing the art is what I love. So I'm looking for someone more talented out there to code them into the game and share it with the Rimworld community.

Please send me a PM if you are interested.

Thanks.

Shinzy

Just wanted to say these look really great! ;D
I do hope to see more like this to become a thing

Settlerking

If I wasn't a hack fraud I'd def help you. I'd butcher the balancing of this armor and propably screw something up. If no one reponds though I'd help you anyway because this looks sooooooo good and I want it. I'd recomend someone else though. I'm a novice at best

kyanos

im new to modding rimworld, but so far so good. anyway some questions on the armor set from a design perspective.

first and foremost, what sort of full armor are you thinking of? it looks like a modified (ish) set of roman style plate armor similar to the ones used by caesars legion in fallout new vegas. in terms of accurate balancing its probably best to use the standard plate design as the template and work from there. at which point its just a question of how do the two compare?

standard plate tends to be worn with something under it, partially because wearing a solid shell of metal on bare skin sucks, but also partially to armor the joints to some degree. this adds weight and reduces mobility from a theoretical standpoint

so, the core questions here are -
based on the pictures there are three distinct classes of armor. is that what is intended? basically a light, medium and heavy set?
what is under the armor? basic cloth, padding, leather or chain?