Help giving a custom alien race verbs from royalty apparel.

Started by PM_ME_NAKED_SINGULARITIES, September 12, 2020, 10:49:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PM_ME_NAKED_SINGULARITIES

Unfortunately I am just beginning my journey into programming and modding and I've been messing around with various verb extender frameworks but haven't had any luck so far. I'm looking to give certain alien races access to the new royalty apparel abilities like the jump pack and shield deployment as innate abilities for said alien race. Any and all advice is greatly appreciated!

RawCode

what about just giving pawn that specific verb?

without any frameworks

Should I use a Hediff for that, or would I need to edit the assembly?

RawCode

well, pawns have innate verbs, like melee attack, have you checked pawn defs?

Not yet but that makes a lot of sense! In case my lack of skill wasn't obvious enough. But to add a new verb for a specific type of pawn (ie a custom race) would the verbs be defined in the .dll or an xml file? (Thank you so much for helping my dumbass)

RawCode

if not yet, then please check pawn defs.

defs are stored in XML files, there are hardcoded defs in code, but this is not case, hardcoded defs called "implied defs"