Mod idea, looking for advice

Started by adwarfnamedduck, January 02, 2021, 10:16:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

adwarfnamedduck

I am just starting out with modding and learning C# and XML. I have an idea for a mod and would love if someone more experienced could give me an indication of how difficult/time consuming it would be to make.

I'd like to add more pacing to the rim by limiting tech stage advancement until certain goals have been reached, to give a kind of "through the ages" feel. The goal would also be about giving real reasons to enjoy the following:

earlier tech stages to be more relevant and more fully experienced for longer and greater immersion in those eras; adding longevity, greater impetus to travel, and possibly even to build multiple colonies in different parts of the world across one game; adding more overall narrative and direction.

I'll hash it out as succinctly as I can and in the minimal form that I would consider it worthwhile:

- you would only be raided or visited by civilizations of your tech level and (very rarely) the next one up, and you could only advance to the next one after you have successfully raided an enemy base and acquired a special item that would allow the advancement. For instance, with narrative in mind and starting at Neolithic, there is a base on the map within a certain radius of your chosen starting area which belongs to an aggressive tribe. You must raid it in order to visit a cave with paintings they consider sacred but are actually detailed schematics for understanding engineering and alloys, so as to advance to the Medieval stage (if using Vanilla Expanded Medieval and Viking). Then taking over a fortress where the lord jealously guards <item> allowing advancement to the Industrial era, and so on.

- all trade conducted with civilizations more advanced than your own would be negatively doubled for each step further than your own, to heavily restrict accessing more advanced items through trade.