[MOD WIP] Neo-Sapeins (Apes)

Started by Calous, August 15, 2023, 06:54:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Calous

For lack of a better title at this moment...

Anyway, I'm new to these forums (so if I'm posting in the wrong spot, please tell me), and I'm new to RimWorld modding (though I'm fairly familiar with most of the technologies for doing so).  Since this is my first modding project for RimWorld, I thought I'd use this thread as a way to chew over ideas and document my current progress.

First thing's first.  I've played with two "Planet of the Apes" mods in the past, and I'm definitely taking some inspiration from both of those, but my intention is not to reproduce the content of those mods.  I'm also pulling from other sources for inspiration.  I'll try and list as many as I can below:

- Planet of the Apes by Neronix17 https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=2823611507&searchtext=apes
- [B18] RimWorld of the Apes Mod 3.0 by Walkingproblem https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=1198933031&searchtext=apes
- 1960's - 70's Planet of the Apes Movies
- 2001 Planet of the Apes
- David Brin's Uplift series of novels
- I'm sure there are more

While I might want to expand the scope to more creatures in the future, for now I'm going to stick with 4 of the Apes: Chimps, Bonobos (Chimps), Gorillas, and Orangutangs.  I also want to try and break the modding itself down into several distinct parts that I can learn about and work on.

Part 1: Create usable pawns and xenotypes
Part 2: Create ideologies and factions
Part 3: Create enhanced abilities/genes and behaviors (which will probably require at least a bit of C# coding).
Part 4: Extras (clothing, tools, buildings, etc). 

This list may get added to/modified as needed.

Any thoughts and ideas are welcomed!

Calous

Part 1:
I want to do the following:

- keep things as simple as possible.
- re-use as much of the standard RimWorld art as I can