[L|652] Crops only grow during day.

Started by Ford_Prefect, December 12, 2014, 12:00:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ford_Prefect

What happens: Crops don't grow at night when under sunlamps.  Even though they have light and the correct temperature.
What is expected:  When exposed to correct temp/light, they should grow continually.

Coenmcj

This is intentional and has been happening since alpha 7 (Possibly before)
Moderator on discord.gg/rimworld come join us! We don't bite

Ford_Prefect

I am a farmer in real life. 

With grow lights, many plants will grow faster as you can expose them for longer periods of time to light than you can outdoors.

For strawberries you can give them 16hours on/8off under a growlight. http://www.ehow.com/how_8087479_grow-strawberries-under-grow-light.html  (Accelerated growth under a glowlight)

Cotton would only grow if you mimicked natural daylight as it is photo-period sensitive. (no change in speed)

Potato tubers growth would be accelerated as we don't care about the flowering of the potato plant, we just eat and clone the plant using its tubers.  (The flowering of the potato plant is photosensitive. We don't eat the true fruit of the potato though, because its deadly (the potato is part of the nightshade family))

Fernbhoy

no one questioned the real life of how it works, it's done this way to stop indoor farms being too overpowered.

StorymasterQ

Wait, true potato plants are deadly? Like, poisonous or just unpalatable for humans? The things i learn...
I like how this game can result in quotes that would be quite unnerving when said in public, out of context. - Myself

The dubious quotes list is now public. See it here

Rhadamant

Quote from: StorymasterQ on December 13, 2014, 06:37:28 PM
Wait, true potato plants are deadly? Like, poisonous or just unpalatable for humans? The things i learn...