So Tynan, care to explain the AI optimizations?

Started by Ramsis, January 06, 2015, 08:13:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ramsis

Just figured I'd ask seeing as you've been working your butt off on it and I know we're all curious on what you've fixed/changed in regards to how people function and do things in game.
Ugh... I have SO MANY MESSES TO CLEAN UP. Oh also I slap people around who work on mods <3

"Back off man, I'm a scientist."
- Egon Stetmann

Awoo~

Geertje123

If you reply, Tynan, could you also explain what changed about the windturbines?

"Expanded/refactored code for wind turbine wind area."

Ramsis

Ugh... I have SO MANY MESSES TO CLEAN UP. Oh also I slap people around who work on mods <3

- Egon Stetmann

Awoo~

thefinn

Quote from: Geertje123 on January 06, 2015, 02:55:47 PM
If you reply, Tynan, could you also explain what changed about the windturbines?

That would be refactoring the calculations of how fast the turbine turns when something is in the way - what the power reduction is I'd imagine.

Tynan

Haplo's original code used a big complex algorithm to yield all the coverage cells. I replaced it with a simpler one that just generates a rectangle in front and back and iterates over their cells.

As for the AI optimizations, lots of things, big and small. You shouldn't notice much difference aside from big gains in speed.

I made a bunch of auto-colony-generation test cases so I can press one button and, say, the game will generate one of every work table, each with one of every bill type, 15 colonists with all work typed enabled, and a gigantic stockpile filled with every item in the game. This produces consistent, repeatable cases which I can invoke easily and on which I can compare performance, which is essential because performance tuning is guided by constant profiling.

In terms of actual optimizations, among others: