Ice blocks

Started by tuver, January 15, 2015, 02:11:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tuver

So I have mainly been living in the cold, where if you get hit by a solar flare you run and build camp fires to keep the heat up. But I started playing in a tropical biome and temps outside have hit 150°F. When a solar flare hits, there's nothing you can do to keep cool, or food frozen.

I was thinking a solution to this would be ice blocks. similar to camp fires, but they reduce temp instead of increase it. Can be stored in a freezer until needed and melt when above freezing.

While I might be able to do something with re-writing the camp fire code. I was wondering if someone else could do better. adding water as a resource might also improve this, but I am not sure how I would go about adding water collecting to the game.

ItchyFlea

Since I've got a lot of free time today, I'll see what I can do.
All my mods are licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International
Ask for permission before using in ModPacks

Click here for a list of the mods I've created

Darth Fool

You can always set a room up as a freezer with a ridiculously low temperature.  When the solar flare hits during a heat wave, first thing you should do is get everyone inside, and lock the outermost door.  This will prevent your likely largest source of heating -- open doors.  After that, if necessary, you could lock them in the freezer.  This should easily last you for a day as long as no psychotic squirrels come knocking down your doors.

Still, +1 for ice blocks.  Maybe you could mine them in cold environments and use them to make ice walls.  Igloo anyone?

Igabod