some thoughts

Started by stvnlee, March 05, 2015, 01:04:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

stvnlee

I'm new to the game and to the forum, so sorry if these points have been made already.

1)  I've tried playing in tundra in the far north, where there is NO growing zone.  All the trees & raspberry bushes die about a week after I start.  New ones spawn, but stay stuck at 5% because it's too cold and/or not ever brightly lit.  The thing is, if new ones never grow, then how did the trees and bushes there at the start ever do so?  (Just asking for consistency)

2)  There are times when I want a character to do a few more things before resting.  So when they are heading for bed, I prioritize another task for them.  Sometimes after a few of those things, they aren't interested in resting anymore.  Tiredness shouldn't just disappear, right?

3)  Nudists can wear jackets and hats and still be happy they're nude. Doesn't that defeat the penalty of being nude?

4)  Things should either spoil or deteriorate, but not both, especially since freezing stops both.  One stat is superfluous, since either they spoil first or deteriorate first.  For example, it doesn't make sense that corn takes a long time to spoil, but will deteriorate as rapidly as all the other fruits & vegetables -- so it'll never spoil.

5)  I miss that in an earlier version one could rotate through one's colonists stats with , and . WHILE the overview screen was up.

stvnlee

One more thing:  I like the new produce options, but while corn and strawberries are advertised as likeable raw, they still make my colonists unhappy when they eat them.

stvnlee

Ok, I take back my comment about spoiling vs. deterioration -- I didn't know that putting a roof over something would stop deterioration.  I was freezing everything!  As for roofs ...