Ludeon Forums

Ludeon Forums

  • August 05, 2021, 06:31:26 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Add Colonists  (Read 5027 times)

todofwar

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Add Colonists
« on: November 16, 2013, 10:38:23 PM »

Couple ideas on how to add in colonists:

Find the block that has wanderers in it and copy it into a new save file. Could be a quick and dirty way to add in colonists.

Have a slaver be in range and drop all prices on slaves to 1.

Anyone who actually knows what they're doing have thoughts on this?
Logged

Rhodes

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 74
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: Add Colonists
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2013, 10:55:09 PM »

I could make a mod that raised the max population for each Story AI to 10x it's normal amount.
In addition, I could make slaves cost $1 and make slaver ships common.

Is this something people are interested in?  The game is not optimized for populations that high, I don't think (never tested it myself).
If it's something people want, then let me know.

On that note, I may be able to increase the maximum map size as well.  I'll have to play around with it (I suspect it will be very buggy, like Ty said).
Logged

Stormkiko

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: Add Colonists
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2013, 02:18:06 AM »

Even 5x or something would be cool. Somewhere around 50?
Logged

todofwar

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: Add Colonists
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2013, 02:56:26 AM »

I like the common slave ship idea, I was mostly thinking I'd like to be able to replenish my colonists back up to 12-15 at will, not that I want much more than that.
Logged

RevolutionVX

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: Add Colonists
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2013, 05:26:02 AM »

Couple ideas on how to add in colonists:

Find the block that has wanderers in it and copy it into a new save file. Could be a quick and dirty way to add in colonists.

Have a slaver be in range and drop all prices on slaves to 1.

Anyone who actually knows what they're doing have thoughts on this?

Very good idea(sorry english i am from portugal xD
Logged

Wopian

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Creative Design
    • View Profile
Re: Add Colonists
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2013, 07:04:10 AM »

I could make a mod that raised the max population for each Story AI to 10x it's normal amount.
In addition, I could make slaves cost $1 and make slaver ships common.

Is this something people are interested in?  The game is not optimized for populations that high, I don't think (never tested it myself).
If it's something people want, then let me know.

On that note, I may be able to increase the maximum map size as well.  I'll have to play around with it (I suspect it will be very buggy, like Ty said).

Yes please. But make a version without the $1 slaves.
Logged


Bobstudios | James Harris Creative Design

Galileus

  • Guest
Re: Add Colonists
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2013, 07:15:35 AM »

Find the block that has wanderers in it and copy it into a new save file. Could be a quick and dirty way to add in colonists.

You would run into problems with ID and lack of "keys" for opening doors. Would be easier to add a new colonist from scratch into a save-game - I should reach that part of the code in <save file structure> today ;)
Logged

RevolutionVX

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: Add Colonists
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2013, 10:06:27 AM »

Find the block that has wanderers in it and copy it into a new save file. Could be a quick and dirty way to add in colonists.

You would run into problems with ID and lack of "keys" for opening doors. Would be easier to add a new colonist from scratch into a save-game - I should reach that part of the code in <save file structure> today ;)
Say when you have some news ::)
Logged

Galileus

  • Guest
Re: Add Colonists
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2013, 11:02:16 AM »

The Pawn class is already there - it may have some flaws or empty spaces here and there, but should be well enough to make yourself a new colonist :P I'll probably write a little tutorial on that later on - first, there is filling these spaces and search for ID's ;)

Just remember to look at max ID "given out" by the game and work from there. There is a tag for that, I believe in some of first categories.
Logged

DeltaV

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
  • Armchair Rocket Scientist
    • View Profile
Re: Add Colonists
« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2013, 11:38:44 AM »

Dev build has a 'spawn colonist' button, kekekekeke

I would be interested in a mod that increased the amount of population before the storyteller stopped giving you more. Maybe balance it out with a lower incap chance (Meaning your colonists will die instead of being incapacitated, and you'll get fewer from raiders).
« Last Edit: November 17, 2013, 11:49:17 AM by DeltaV »
Logged
Quote from: Douglas Adams
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.