[A14] Unplayable on Mac

Started by pk4yahweh, July 19, 2016, 03:12:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pk4yahweh

Im not sure what is different - but I have been playing Rimworld on the same Macbook since early Alphas with no issues at all.  Suddenly with Alpha 14 the game lags so much on the smallest settings I cannot play it.  It runs in SUPER slow motion.

Im not a computer expert - so not sure what is needed to help decider the problem (or maybe the same Unity issue as Linux?)

My specs:

MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2010)
2.66 GHz Intel Core i7
8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
Intel HD Graphics 288 MB

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

ttoocs

Quote from: ttoocs on July 19, 2016, 03:24:00 PM
I saw your post about it running painfully slow on a mac..
Can you try running it with -force-opengl? (I'm on linux, and this fixed my issue, I'm curious if it might fix yours)

Quote from: pk4yahweh on July 19, 2016, 03:47:42 PM
Can you explain how I run it with -force-opengl?

Quote from: ttoocs on July 19, 2016, 03:54:31 PM
Are you running it via steam, or just clicking it in a folder somewhere?

Quote from: pk4yahweh on July 19, 2016, 04:00:17 PM
I installed it on my harddrive.  I figured Steam was only making it worse.

Quote from: ttoocs on July 19, 2016, 04:12:17 PM
Alright, so if you open up a new terminal, type (or copy-paste)
/Applications/RimWorld1238Mac.app/Contents/MacOS/RimWorld1238Mac -force-opengl
That should run it, to my understanding

If that doesn't work, try
cd /Applications
`find | grep RimWorld1238Mac` -force-opengl
And it _should_ find it and run it.

Alternatively use
find | grep RimWorld1238Mac
to find the directory and cd to it, and then ./RimWorld1238Mac -force-opengl
Quote from: pk4yahweh on July 19, 2016, 05:23:55 PM
Yes - that fixed it!
Is this something I have to do overtime I want to play (open terminal window and type that command) or will they be able to fix this in a patch?
Thanks!

There is a way to create a shortcut to do this: