Your not so cheap ideas.

Started by Ferigad, October 09, 2013, 12:41:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nasikabatrachus

Building on the notion of two groups landing and fighting each other in the midst of the player's colony, I suggest an AI Director event (with a frequency of once or twice per colony) in which a traveler enters the map from one side and is shortly followed by raiders/pirates/bounty hunters attempting to kill or capture the traveler while the traveler attempts to escape through the opposite side of the map.

The decision of whether to intervene on the traveler's behalf presents an interesting choice to the player: either adopt an aggressive approach in order to gain a new colonist at the risk of losing one or more current colonists or let the opportunity pass by. This would also contribute to the Wild West feel of the game.

Pendryn

Just tossing some thoughts out there. As I am not a programmer I have zero idea of whether any of these would be considered cheap as I have no reference for the length of time it would take to code them.

Perhaps when you initialize your colony, how about when your survivors arrive, some less fortunates arrive as well? Maybe have them be special items in the game that don't generate any unhappiness and decay after a day or so. Purely cosmetic.

How about some corpse decay? As the only way to prioritize corpses in manually, perhaps nature on this strange new world includes really go bacteria that'll break down corpses in, say, 5 days or so?

How about a Colony Leader? After a few days your current colonists elect one to be the leader, probably at random. That individual would give a temporary boost to, say, happiness, or perhaps a work efficiency boost. She is so inspiring. She wouldn't need a personal boost as she has a badge of office. If she dies, a new one would be elected among the survivors in a matter of days.

I believe I saw someone mention terraforming somewhere. Ain't a shabby idea.