Ludeon Forums

RimWorld => Releases => Mods => Outdated => Topic started by: ItchyFlea on October 01, 2014, 08:46:45 PM

Title: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v1.0
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 01, 2014, 08:46:45 PM
Extended Stoneworking v1.0


Description:
This mods makes the new stone types (Sandstone, Limestone, Granite, Slate & Marble) drop chunks that can be processed into bricks at the stoneworking table that can be used to make buildings/walls out of the type of stone. Each stone type has a 75% chance of dropping a chunk.
If it can be made from Stuff, it can be made from these new stone blocks.
IE: Marble beds, granite walls, limestone research bench, sandstone modular tables...

Mod Team:
Download:
Screenshots:
(https://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=6461.0;attach=4146) (https://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=6461.0;attach=4148)
Changelog:
V1.0:
V0.93:
V0.92:
V0.91:
V0.9:

(http://i.creativecommons.org/l/by-sa/4.0/88x31.png)
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/)

[attachment deleted by admin: too old]
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.9
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 01, 2014, 08:49:46 PM
Currently, each new stone type should build walls that have a similar amount of HP that the rock type does. This means that Granite walls are stronger than Sandstone walls. These new stone block types should also be tradeable. So if you land in a biome that doesn't have marble, you can still buy marble blocks to build marble things.

New stone block stats/more info:

Please post any comments you have about this mod. :D
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.9
Post by: Iwillbenicetou on October 01, 2014, 10:38:07 PM
Where do the beds come from?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.9
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 01, 2014, 10:59:43 PM
The beds in the 2nd screenshot are vanilla RimWorld beds. Specifically one is the Royal Bed, the other is 2 Medical Beds next to each other.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.9
Post by: Matthiasagreen on October 02, 2014, 12:27:41 AM
so you pretty much made an alpha 8 mod. :)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.9
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 02, 2014, 12:52:18 AM
so you pretty much made an alpha 8 mod. :)
I can almost guarantee that this mod won't be updated when Alpha 8 is released. It'll be relegated to the Halls of Extinct Great Mods. Also known as the Outdated subforum. :P

But yes, this does appear to potentially add something similar to what Tynan is adding to Alpha 8. Although according to the changelog, Tynan's implementation will be far more encompassing than this.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.9
Post by: Romi on October 02, 2014, 12:55:02 PM
Cool now the stones have some more usage!Thanks ItchyFlea for a cool mod!
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.9
Post by: eatKenny on October 02, 2014, 04:52:24 PM
love the mod!

just one thing, since the hauler can haul more than one chunk at a time, can u make the chunk forbiden when it fall off? otherwise it is really unefficient that a hauler run ten miles just to haul one chunk. or maybe like the old fashioned chunk which need to use the "haul" oder.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.9
Post by: Iwillbenicetou on October 02, 2014, 06:20:10 PM
The beds in the 2nd screenshot are vanilla RimWorld beds. Specifically one is the Royal Bed, the other is 2 Medical Beds next to each other.

Sorry at the time I hadn't played A7. I do and don't like the update. I don't like it for having to spend more time to select stuff.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.9
Post by: Telkir on October 02, 2014, 06:22:49 PM
Very nice, I'll be giving this a spin in my next game!
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.9
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 02, 2014, 06:40:32 PM
love the mod!

just one thing, since the hauler can haul more than one chunk at a time, can u make the chunk forbiden when it fall off? otherwise it is really unefficient that a hauler run ten miles just to haul one chunk. or maybe like the old fashioned chunk which need to use the "haul" oder.
I do like the idea of having them spawn like standard chunks, requiring the haul order to be moved. I'll look into that.


EDIT: Just posted a quick bugfix update. Apparently I forgot to make it so that traders didn't carry unprocessed stone chunks.
From what I can tell, this fix does not break existing saves, so can be applied without worry. I recommend making a backup copy of your save just in case.
I've left the v0.9 version available in the attachments section of the OP just in case you do encounter problems using the new update.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.92
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 02, 2014, 07:02:00 PM
Another update. This mods stone chunks now behave like vanilla stone chunks in that you must designate them to be hauled.
This appears to work fine with existing saves. If it doesn't, the original version of this mod is still available in the attachment section of the OP.
Make a backup of your save before using this update, just in case there are problems. :)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.92
Post by: shadowstreaker on October 02, 2014, 07:06:48 PM
Would introducing similarly coloured stone floors be too difficult?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.92
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 03, 2014, 01:32:39 AM
Would introducing similarly coloured stone floors be too difficult?
Should be fairly easy to do.

EDIT: Well, adding the defs was easy. Making the textures, not so much. I'll come back to it at a later date. :)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.92
Post by: shadowstreaker on October 03, 2014, 03:34:17 AM
Awesome :)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.92
Post by: Killaim on October 04, 2014, 02:54:56 AM
the stones can be stacked - but they still only pick up one pile at the time - is it possible to make them pick up as much as they can carry in one go ? alot of hauling jobs when mining

or atleast my game every mined rock piece drops a stone chunk
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.92
Post by: t99228712 on October 05, 2014, 02:49:48 PM
Is that all the stone chunks can be making to bricks? somehow my colonist only choose those original rock pile but not the chunk, now the chunks are full of my place. so annoying :'( (sorry for my english)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.92
Post by: harpo99999 on October 05, 2014, 06:51:53 PM
ichyflea, I have had to scratch the chin of your mod by altering each of the stone chunks from raw resource to chunk storage
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.92
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 06, 2014, 05:48:10 AM
ichyflea, I have had to scratch the chin of your mod by altering each of the stone chunks from raw resource to chunk storage
Nice way to put it. :D

I've started playing a long-game with this mod active to try and find any problems with it. So far, the only thing of note is that being set as chunks, despite being stackable, do not get stacked when hauled.
That will be changed and they will be reverted to items can can be stacked when hauled.

Setting the chunks to be hauled to chunk stockpiles, rather than resource stockpiles, is a good idea, as until they are processed, they are just as useless as normal chunks.
So that will be looked into, as it seems to be a good idea.

So expect to see an update in a few days.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.92
Post by: shadowstreaker on October 06, 2014, 05:51:45 AM
Would it be possible to add your new stone chunks to the original stone bricks recipe? As they are used in some recipes on their own
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.92
Post by: AHare on October 07, 2014, 08:50:38 PM
Any way to get a version that has a smaller chance to drop the chunks? Since they only haul one at a time, when you're digging into a mountain it takes forever to clean up.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.93
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 07, 2014, 09:33:35 PM
New update.

In this update I have undone the change that made chunks require a hauling designation, as colonists were only moving 1 at a time despite being stackable. I have also vastly lowered the spawn chance. It was 75%, and is now 35%.

EDIT:
Any way to get a version that has a smaller chance to drop the chunks? Since they only haul one at a time, when you're digging into a mountain it takes forever to clean up.
Nice timing. Just finished a new update to hopefully fix that very issue. :)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.93
Post by: Angie on October 08, 2014, 09:54:09 AM
Added and started a new colony last night on casual, just to play. Lovely, thanks for the options... makes the buildings much more distinct and purty.

Question- any chance you could extent the stones into more flooring options? I'd love to see other varied stone tiles as options for my floors?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.93
Post by: Kumai0214 on October 09, 2014, 12:16:41 AM
I'm not sure if this is because of a mod conflict but when I have this mod activated with a few other mods, I see the normal stone cutter's table with the stone block recipe but anything else involving the limestone chunks being turned into limestone bricks and what not, that recipe/production table I do not see.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.93
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 09, 2014, 12:55:44 AM
I'm not sure if this is because of a mod conflict but when I have this mod activated with a few other mods, I see the normal stone cutter's table with the stone block recipe but anything else involving the limestone chunks being turned into limestone bricks and what not, that recipe/production table I do not see.
This mod won't work correctly with any other mods that also modify the stonecutting table. A limitation of how bills are set up with their respective tables. According to the changelog on Sept 29 (https://docs.google.com/document/d/1_rCdGYp3nbSUXFG4Ky96RZW1cJGt9g_6ANZZPOHyNsg/pub) Tynan added a feature to A8 that will remove this limitation. Although this mod won't exist for A8 so yeah... Tynan is making something more comprehensive than this for A8. (Also mentioned on the Sept 29 post)

If you use TTM, minami26 has been given permission to make a patch so that this mod and TTM work together.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.93
Post by: DracoGriffin on October 10, 2014, 06:18:01 PM
Walls/conduit walls built with the special bricks are showing as 0 Beauty and colonists don't seem to notice either (was thinking it was just a display issue).

Installed mods are:

However, I deactivated all mods except Extended Stoneworking (obviously) and started a new colony.
(http://i.imgur.com/nsNh5b0.jpg)
(http://i.imgur.com/3H3czpE.jpg)
(http://i.imgur.com/uqRpgTf.jpg)
(http://i.imgur.com/RQ6kwcx.jpg)

Is this intended?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.93
Post by: shadowstreaker on October 10, 2014, 06:20:12 PM
As far as I can tell, all walls, vanilla and otherwise, all have a beauty value of 0, I could be wrong but ive never seen any walls with a beauty value
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.93
Post by: DracoGriffin on October 10, 2014, 06:54:29 PM
As far as I can tell, all walls, vanilla and otherwise, all have a beauty value of 0, I could be wrong but ive never seen any walls with a beauty value
Vanilla Wood/Stone Block Walls/Conduit Walls have a Beauty of 3.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v0.93
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 10, 2014, 06:58:23 PM
-snip-
Not intended, but not a huge deal either from what I can tell. Colonists don't really seem to mind the beauty value of walls. I'll fix it anyway.

EDIT: And it's fixed. Fixed version is now available from the OP.
Also made this into a full fledged 1.0 version. :)
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v1.0
Post by: StorymasterQ on October 12, 2014, 09:23:12 PM
Colonists don't really seem to mind the beauty value of walls.

Well, not until you make some sort of rotting corpse wall.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v1.0
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 12, 2014, 11:51:49 PM
Colonists don't really seem to mind the beauty value of walls.

Well, not until you make some sort of rotting corpse wall.
Good point. The colonists would love it, and the prisoners would be able to see their old friends. :P
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v1.0
Post by: harpo99999 on October 13, 2014, 03:09:01 AM
WHEN will you produe this?
harpo
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v1.0
Post by: Clibanarius on October 13, 2014, 06:43:16 AM
WHEN will you produe this?
harpo
What are you talking about, what are you asking?
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v1.0
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 13, 2014, 03:39:17 PM
WHEN will you produe this?
harpo
What are you talking about, what are you asking?

I'm fairly confident harpo is asking about the rotting corpse wall.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v1.0
Post by: harpo99999 on October 13, 2014, 06:37:24 PM
yes, it would make a perfect addition for prison walls with a huge negative mood and huge fear(conversion speed) increase, as it would remind the prisoners that either they join the colony OR they join the WALL
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v1.0
Post by: wsensor on October 15, 2014, 04:04:01 AM
I was trying to make different stone blocks but it always makes standard stone blocks... Is there a reason why? (I had the version in the scratch pack)
It only ever gives me the option to craft regular stone blocks.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v1.0
Post by: harpo99999 on October 15, 2014, 05:02:10 AM
possibly because you only had the first recepie in the menu, personally I set up ALL the recepies in the stonework bench, not just the first
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v1.0
Post by: ItchyFlea on October 15, 2014, 05:42:08 AM
I was trying to make different stone blocks but it always makes standard stone blocks... Is there a reason why? (I had the version in the scratch pack)
It only ever gives me the option to craft regular stone blocks.
Are you using the pack with other mods? There are some mods (such as TTM) which override things this mod changes.
While I haven't personally tested it, there is a compatibility patch made by minami26 which solves the incompatibility between this specific mod and TTM, but that patch should also work with the ScratchPack.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v1.0
Post by: wsensor on October 15, 2014, 12:30:26 PM
Not sure what was wrong but I forced it to load the scratch pack last and it fixed the problem. I had checked all the other mods and did not find one that effected the stonecutter table other than the scratchpack.
Title: Re: [MOD] (Alpha 7) Extended Stoneworking v1.0
Post by: Spyder on October 27, 2014, 10:41:09 PM
If it helps anyone in the future, I had the same problem as wsensor with the Natural Terrain Flooring mod. I simply deleted the Stonecutting Table definition from the NTF mod's ThingDefs xml - specifically Buildings_Production.xml. That file modified the same content as this pack without including definitions for the new recipes. I made this change and loaded a save without an issue and I'm able to use both mods.