I want to make a mod, but I'm a complete noob. Help!

Started by Hancake, March 26, 2014, 11:48:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hancake

So basically, the mod I want to make is literally to just change all the textures, in the same way a texture pack would work with minecraft.

Here come the nooby questions:

• Is it possible to do with the way rimworld is coded?
    • Is it reasonably easy to do as a noob just learning how to understand code?
    • Will I need any software to do it?
    • If I literally just swap out all the original graphics for my ones..will that mess any code up and cause things to break, that I will then be unable to fix?

Thanks in advance for your help :)

Rokiyo

I don't think you'll need to write any code at all... Just a bit of XML reading to figure our folder and file names should be enough.

To begin with, I would recommend installing Notepad++ and using it to open the XML files located in RimWorld\Mods\Core\Defs.

For example, in RimWorld\Mods\Core\Defs\TerrainDefs\BaseTerrains.xml, you'll see some text that looks like this:
<TerrainDef>
<defName>Soil</defName>
<Label>Soil</Label>
<TexturePath>Terrain/Surfaces/Soil</TexturePath>
<EdgeType>Fade</EdgeType>
<RenderPrecedence>340</RenderPrecedence>
<PathCost>2</PathCost>
<Beauty>Neutral</Beauty>
<ScatterType>Rocky</ScatterType>
<SurfacesSupported>
<li>Light</li>
<li>Heavy</li>
<li>GrowSoil</li>
<li>Diggable</li>
</SurfacesSupported>
<ConstructionEffect>ConstructDig</ConstructionEffect>
<TerrainFilthDef>FilthDirt</TerrainFilthDef>
<Fertility>1.0</Fertility>
<TakeFootprints>True</TakeFootprints>
</TerrainDef>

What you're after is the <TexturePath> tag, which tells you where the game will go looking for that texture.

I believe if you were to create a file called Soil.png, and placed it in your RimWorld\Mods\Core\Textures\Terrain\Surfaces\Soil folder, then the game should automatically start using that new texture.