What is your opinion on the somewhat recent Simplified Leather Change to Vanilla

Started by viperwasp, October 16, 2018, 10:49:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

viperwasp

So now there are only what 3-4 types of Leather? I heard of this change in one of the change logs. But this is my first time really playing since than. I liked how it was before because it was more interesting. I could be like oh this person has Hare Skin pants. This person has Bear Parka etc... Or more so couches and other objects made out of it.

It seems you can still spawn in all the types of leather using Dev Tools or God Mode. But that's not fun etc. And it feels like cheating. Plus enemy spawn won't get it.

Do most of you like this new change? I imagine there are upsides? Is it more balanced in terms of stats? And of course it causes less clutter. Still are there any good mods that sort of revert it to the old way? Even if I a mod did make every animal produce it's own leather. The new vanilla recipes would still not support it right? So the mod would have to change a fair bit I imagine. Is there such a mod? Basically I don't like this new change overall as I feel it kind of dumbs down Rimworld a tiny bit.
•  Lian Li Lancool II MESH RGB
•  Intel Core i7-12700K Alder Lake 12-Core
•  64 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3600Mhz
•  WD Black SN850 2TB GEN4
•  2x WD Black 8TB
•  Windows 10 OS
•  RTX 4080 GIGABYTE Gaming OC 16GB
•  Dark Rock Pro 4 (CPU Cooler)
•  TUF Gaming Z690-Plus- WIFI D4

fritzgryphon

The first time I saw the leather list I loled.  They are mostly the same.

I just want to know which is the warmest one and which is the armorest one.

Then once you get strand or flak, leathers become trivial.  Each is just another arrow to click on the trading screen.  Pro change.

B@R5uk

My thoughts are it's beautiful!!!