i need help compiling a source code mod

Started by Svullo, February 24, 2015, 08:27:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Svullo

i used ILspy to decompile the "assembly-csharp.dll", then i made some tiny changes to skill experience gains (i basically made skills level up faster). but when i try to compile it i get hundreds of errors.

i am using visual studio express 2010, because the 2013 version has expired and won't let me use it anymore, and when i try to log in with my account it gives me an error. does anyone have any idea what the problem is? it is because i'm using the 2010 version of visual studio express? or is it something else.

thanks in advance.

soulkata

Doesnt work like that! You should look for ILSpying help...

You should look at Defs sections and make a mod wich works with the current game, not trying create you own game!

Svullo

i don't understand what you mean. what defs sections? i'm a noob when it comes to modding. all i want to do is change a few things that can't be changed via XML editing. that's why i had to change the source code. so how exactly do i make a dll mod? if you could explain in more detail i would really appreciate it.

Latta

Read sticky: [Tutorial] ( Alpha 8 ) How to make a .dll-mod

It's for Alpha 8, but it remains all same, and explains you from the very beginning: What namespaces to use, what to override, and what is that overrided method doing(like tick()), so on.

For that errors, I think you didn't added your Assembly and Unity dll to the project.

Svullo

i already read that thread. it doesn't really explain anything. i need a step by step tutorial. here's what i've done so far:

1. i decompiled "assembly-csharp.dll".
2. i opened the project using visual studio express 2010.
3. i changed a few variables to make experience increase faster.

now i have no idea what to do. how do i get my changes in the game? could someone please explain?

thank you.

Haplo