I grew colony from 1 to 9 pawns in 5 years... then my guests destroyed it

Started by Garwel, December 18, 2022, 01:51:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Garwel

I want to share the most epic story that happened to me in RimWorld since I started playing roughly 3 years ago.

I wanted to give myself a challenge. So I played in Tundra. As a tribal. In Naked Brutality. In Ironman mode. To top it off, I use lots of mods to further spice up the experience.

So I started with my lonely colonist, Llama. He was soon joined by Alexandria, who I first captured, then enslaved and then recruited as a colonist. Not long after, the two happily married. There were also other colonists: the colony was growing well, although every winter was a challenge. For a long time, there were no losses (not counting a few prisoners).

Four game years later, Alexandria was attacked by a hungry Megawolverine. Unfortunately, she was far from the base and from other colonists. She fired at the beast and seriously injured it, but didn't have time to escape. She was eaten alive in front of the colonists who were rushing to help, but were too late. Of course, Llama was overwhelmed with grief and from that point, he would often have mental breakdowns.

Another year passed, and the colony survived another winter. In the spring of 5505, Llama had a catatonic breakdown (not his first one since the loss of Alexandria). While he was recovering in an infirmary, a group of 10 guests from a friendly faction showed up, complete with the faction's chief. A couple days later, Lex, one of the colony's veterans, casually tried to convert Tolque, one of the guests, to his ideoligion. Tolque didn't like it and started a social fight.