Ludeon Forums

Ludeon Forums

  • July 17, 2019, 09:15:51 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 14

Author Topic: [1.0][B19-A15] Industrial Rollers 2.4.03 - Free your haulers!  (Read 120838 times)

historic_os

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Rollin'
    • View Profile
[1.0][B19-A15] Industrial Rollers 2.4.03 - Free your haulers!
« on: October 21, 2016, 01:06:09 AM »



Industrial Rollers Version 2.4.03 - RimWorld 1.0!

What's new in 2.0? - new features, balance changes, new mechanics and QoL changes. read here!





Translation help required!
Hey! help me localize the mod! check this form to offer translations.
Already translated version 2.0: Korean, Chinese(Traditional), Portuguese(Brazilian), German, Spanish, Polish, French, Russian, Japanese, Turkish, Hungarian, Dutch.
Already translated previous versions(needs update): Norwegian.

Description
Lets you setup automated rollers to transfer items to stockpiles and free hauler's time.
Use In-wall rollers to transfer items into rooms while keeping the room sealed and maintaining its temperature.
Roller pushers can scan and move items to a different roller system based on configured pusher storage settings.

While you can make use of a simple small belt system (for example: hauling chef's ready meals to fridge)
A well planned, broad and organized belt system can greatly benefit your hauling capabilities. I can't wait to see people's implementations!

TUTORIAL! with an implementation of an automated kitchen

YouTube Video

Recommended mods
Some recommended mods that enhance automation experience:

Usage tips
  • Place stockpiles on the roller to force pawns to haul to them and make sure the stockpile has the same priority as the destination stockpile
  • This mod adds structures to the Industrial tab.
  • Use pushers to split a big general roller line into branches of rollers who deal with specific items
  • Every type of roller and the pusher require electricity. however, you dont need to provide a power to each roller. Rollers transfer power, a single connection is enough
  • Items are forbidden, dont worry about it. it prevents pawns from trying to haul items from the moving rails. once item reaches its destination or get stuck (for example, when stockpile is full) the items will automatically allow again.
  • Does not require additional mods / libraries. as for now, there are no known conflicts with other mods and can load into an existing save game


FAQ
  • Can i add\remove it from my existing save?
    Yes, you can add it.
    To remove, you'll need to make sure you have no mod related structures placed.
  • What are these rollers?
    Conveyor belts! This mod is heavily inspired by Factorio.
    And since the mod is not easy to learn, i try to keep things similar to the game many people know (this is why underground rollers are limited in range).
  • Research?
    No. i decided to skip research for this mod because i don't believe in the game's current research system. you can read my suggestion here.
  • My Puller\Pusher are not working
    Make sure you've set the Storage settings for them. Storage settings represents the items they will be handling.
    For Pullers, also make sure you have set a destination stockpile or set it to "do forever".
  • Why are my Pullers\Grow zone pullers consuming so much electricity?
    This was a balancing act. Pullers and Grow zone pullers power consumption is based on attached stockpile\grow zone size, each tile costs 4.5W and 2.5W respectively. With a minimal power consumption of 60W for small zones.
  • Even with the huge power cost, i still think Puller is OP
    Many agree, you can go to the mod settings and enable Hardcore Mode. it will limit the range of the Pullers.
  • Can a Pusher place items inside a building\structure X? and can a Puller pull from it?
    As long as the structure implements game's Storage_Building interface, it can.
    if it doesn't, i can't fix it at my end.
  • I have items teleport around on my rollers
    Make sure you have no extra stockpiles on the belts. you should only have them where you need them (on the belt entry point if you dont use Pushers).
    Seeing a stockpile, the belts are trying to place the item in it, but since there is a belt under that stockpile, it can get into a loop.
  • Something is still not working for me
    Feel free to ask, but it would be nice if you include a screen shot. it will be much easier to detect the problem.

In-development / Future releases
  • Multi lang localization
  • MOAR AUTOMATION!

Version log
Code: [Select]
Version 2.4.03 (No version number change) - RimWorld 1.0 (DL link in main post)
RimWorld has finally hit version 1.0!
This update is only a version number change.
If you are still running B19, it will still work even if it appears red in your mod list.

Version 2.4.03 (No version number change) - RimWorld B19 (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/ce4v9L)
Changes
- Just RimWorld version number change to match B19.

Version 2.4.03 - RimWorld 1.0 Unstable support first bug fix iteration (DL link in main post)
QoL
- Pullers will be now default to "DO FOREVER" once built instead of "STOPPED".

Bug fixes
- Fixed a bug that caused Pullers to pull built structures and furniture from stockpiles.
- Fixed a bug causing Puller buttons (widgets) to disappear when using the "Save Storage & Outfit Settings" mod. Support for the mod is back as well.

Version 2.4.00 - RimWorld 1.0 Unstable support! (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/cAvkFN)
Features
- RimWorld 1.0 version.

Version 2.3.06 - Recovering from B18 Bugs, bringing back ModSync Ninja! (DL link in main post)
Features
- Added ModSync Ninja back!

Bug fixes
- Some users experienced disappearing pullers. while i couldn't reproduce the error myself, i did change the problematic method - should be fixed.
- Fixed Pushes and Pullers don't push\pull to storage buildings when there is a power conduit under the structure
- Underground rollers should now work on bridges and any other surface.
- In-Wall rollers should no longer disappear when loading a game if there was an item on the belt

Translations
- Fixed Japanese translation by ハグ & Proxyer. Thanks!

Version 2.2.0 - B18, Bug fixes, balance changes and translations (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/1iW1rd)
Bug fixes:
- Power conduits are no longer visible on top of belts when built near by.
- XML refactored and cleaned up to allow easier access to editing if required.

Balance changes:
- In-Wall Roller: HP increased from 80 to 200.
- A18 Construction skill requirements added:
  - Construction skill 10: Normal belts(including directional), In-Wall and Splitter.
  - Construction skill 12: Pusher, Growzone Puller.
  - Construction skill 13: Puller, Underground belts.
 
Construction skill requirement is being used instead of research as a balance factor to the mod.
If for any reason, you are not happy with the change, you may edit the XML file and replace <constructionSkillPrerequisite> tags to whatever you see fit.

Translations:
- Fixed Japanese translation by ハグ (thanks for feedback!).

Version 2.1.25 - Bug fixes, balance changes and more translations (DL link in main post)
Bug fixes:
- Fixed a bug causing items to disappear into unknown void when placed on a belt next to almost built belt.

Balance changes:
- Hardcore mode puller range reduced from 20 to 15.
- You can now adjust puller pulling range in the mod settings(if using Hardcore mode). Allowed values 1-100.

Translations:
- Added Russian by meggerry(http://steamcommunity.com/id/meggerry/).
- Added Japanese by ハグ.
- Added Turkish by KemalKhan(http://steamcommunity.com/id/KemalKhan/).
- Added Hungarian by DevEagle.
- Dutch translation update by an anonymous translator.
- German translation update by an anonymous translator.

Version 2.1.1 - ModSync Ninja support! (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/LWzkjP)
- Synced with ModSync ninja to allow update notifications for ModSync ninja users.

Version 2.1 - More translations, QoL changes, features and a bug fix! (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/zZ3Mve)
Bug fixes:
- Fixed a bug allowing users to build Pushers right after Grow zone puller resulting in the Grow zone puller getting stuck.

New features:
- Added support for Saving/Loading storage settings for users using Save Storage & Outfit Settings by Kiame!

QoL changes:
- You can now build rollers on bridges and other structures that allows building on such as pipes and modded power cables.
- The new directional indication arrow was added to Pushers, Pullers and Grow zone pullers on placement phase.

New translations added:
- French by blaktek.
- Polish by Kubin & YoshyPL.
- German by eddy2k.
- Spanish by msxRL.
- Chinese(Traditional) translation by PostPack.
- Portuguese translation by Lucas.
- Korean translation by kms8610.

Thank you all for the amazing translations!

Version 2.0 - The huge update (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/LVUAVR)
- Big update,  read here : https://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?topic=26967.msg345789#msg345789

Version 1.3.01 - A17b + Renameable destinations for pullers (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/yeE7V4)
- Updated for A17b (no change, just to match version numbering)
- Pullers now gets storage buildings labels in a way that allows them to show renamed buildings.

Version 1.3.0 - A17 Version (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/dW2zBd)
- Updated for A17

Version 1.2.3 - Pulling Intervals (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/CP5pLH)
- New "Pulling Settings" added to Pullers. allows setting pulling intervals to reduce "over pulling" of resources.
- This change greatly improve performance as well since it reduces the number of unneeded pulls and draws less item transitions on the map.

Version 1.2.22 - Flammable changes and localizations (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/sudCeT)
- Since in-wall roller, pusher and puller maintain room temperature, it only makes sense that they will not be flammable. Therefore, these 3 components are no longer flammable.
- 6 translations added: German, Korean, Spanish, Russian, Norwegian and French!

Version 1.2.21 - Graphic changes and fixes (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/t2bKcP)
- Graphical update for both Puller and Pusher to better represent the fact they can be placed in walls and a new graphic to represent "Off" state
- Bug fixes:
-- Power cords from "PowerSwitch" now automatically removed when a roller is placed on them. no longer causes the belt to get stuck by power cords.
-- Graphical issue with Pusher displaying the "push" animation on every item instead of just filtered items has been fixed.
-- Missing graphic for Puller when pulling items from stockpile has been added.
-- In-Wall rollers now act as roof support

Version 1.2.10 - Custom storage buildings and mods support! (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/Bl6pKy)
- LONG REQUESTED: Pusher can now push into storage buildings such as equipment rack, modded fridges, etc!
- Bugfix: rail and other machine blueprints properly appear as blueprints and not as already built structures.

Version 1.2.0 - A16! (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/TAYMmF)
- Added support for A16
- QoL: Mod structures and machines moved to "Industrial" tab from "Misc"

Version 1.1.01 - Balance patch! (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/ct66VS)
- Rollers power consumption been heavily reduced to 5W from 25W each
- Puller power consumption has been changed from 60W flat to 4.5W per connected stockpile cell(min 60W)
- QoL: Pullers now display a line between Puller and linked stockpile when selected

Update note: Puller's configured stockpile algorithm has been changed for a future storage buildings support. if you had any pullers configured to a stockpile you might need to take a second to reconfigure them (one time), sorry for that!

Version 1.1.0 - Puller patch! (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/VUQyWm)
- NEW MACHINE! Puller - pull resources from a stockpile to a roller or another stockpile, has configuration to pull until selected stockpile is full.
- Pushers and pullers can directly replace a wall and maintain temps(like in-wall rollers)
- Pushers and pullers no longer hold an extra item on them if a destination is blocked
- Pusher no longer work without electricity(woops...)
- Selecting a roller will now highlight its direction

Version 1.0.01 - Small QoL patch (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/91D5Xi)
- In-Wall rollers can directly replace a wall without the need to deconstruct it
- Pushers no longer start fires outdoors

Version 1.0.0 - Initial Release (DL link for ver: https://goo.gl/wOyAsr)

X.0.0 - Major changes | 0.XX.0 - New features  | 0.0.XX - Bug fixes, tiny features and QoL changes


Download

Latest RimWorld 1.0 Steam workshop | Drive

A15 Version(v1.1.01)
A16 Version(v1.2.3)
A17 Version(v2.1.25)
B18 Version(v2.3.06)
B19 Version(v2.4.03)


Modpacks
Feel free to add.

Author
historic_os

« Last Edit: October 18, 2018, 09:02:22 PM by historic_os »
Logged

SURU

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2016, 01:32:30 AM »

Great! Just as in Factorio. I miss it :) Will try soon
Logged
CraPC: AMD Phenom X3 8750 | Club 3D Radeon 7770 | Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | 4GB RAM DDR2 2x2GB Kingston
Don't go this way!

Commander Blackwatch

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Special Force Blackwatch Commander
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2016, 02:53:13 AM »

Genius and So Amazing i will try this mod and also i watch your video
 :D ;D :D ;D :D
Logged
"When we hunt, we kill!
No one is safe!
Nothing is sacred!
We are Blackwatch!
We are the last line of defense!
We will burn our own to hold the red line,
it is the last line to ever hold!"
―The Blackwatch

Ramsis

  • Administrator
  • Colonist
  • *****
  • Posts: 998
  • Moderator Overseer
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2016, 12:24:15 PM »

Hey there sport, love the mod, instantly fell in love with it, my only complaint is the lack of pictures to work with! Not everyone likes watching videos sadly.

So, if you can please toss up some extra screenshots of amazing builds! :D
« Last Edit: October 21, 2016, 12:48:41 PM by Ramsis »
Logged
Ugh... I have SO MANY MESSES TO CLEAN UP. Oh also I slap people around who work on mods <3

"Back off man, I'm a scientist."
- Egon Stetmann


Awoo~

zmadz

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2016, 01:11:58 PM »

amazing mod, thx for sharing and welcome to the community
Logged

onebit

  • Muffalo
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2016, 01:32:46 PM »

Epic!
Logged

14m1337

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 254
  • Addicted
    • View Profile
    • 1337@wikipedia
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2016, 04:15:38 PM »

 :o legendary. gotta give it a try in my next colony.
Logged
Quick_Silver - The One And Lonely
My posts may sometimes be filled with (sarcastic) humor - it's up to you to find it out on your own.
Usually drunk on Mondays from 21:00 to 03:00 CEST.

Hydromancerx

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 467
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2016, 05:17:23 PM »

So these are "Conveyor Belts" ?
Logged

historic_os

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Rollin'
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2016, 01:48:17 AM »

Thanks everyone for the great feedback both here and on steam!
yeah, these are conveyor belts and this mod is heavily inspired by Factorio :)

Updated the post to include version 1.0.01(adds some QoL changes) and added some more images!
haven't had the time yet since the mod release to actually play and make a fully automated belt system colony but ill be trying it myself soon once i finish working on some new updates.
if anyone started playing with the mod and has some cool builds to share, im excited to see!

And obviously, always wanting to get more feedback and feature ideas. thanks for the support!

zmadz

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2016, 12:01:57 PM »

i thought resources were telepoting but they are just not showing cuz they are stuck in the wall roller
« Last Edit: October 22, 2016, 12:11:50 PM by zmadz »
Logged

KTVSUN

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2016, 05:31:35 PM »

Here is a screenshot:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10144/Capture%20plein%20%C3%A9cran%2022102016%20151843.jpg

My cook has 2 zones around him one for meat, one for vegs. I m trying to feed these zones from the stockpiles setup on the adjacent rooms.

Since the belt only takes what is directly on it i made a lot of belts on the vegs room to the left.

What i believe happen is
- something gets picked up by one of the vertical belts, when it reaches the queue, since it is in a zone it gets teleported out of its position at a random spot in the stockpile. That s one thing and i understand the logic eventhought aht s not what i would want to happen.
- as it lands at its new position it is free to use and keep moving and remain free to use untill it reaches it s destination or another belt

Here are 4 sequential screenshot to show what i mean, the pile of potatoes keeps jumping like this (screens are taken like 1 sec apart):

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10144/pile%20of%20potatoes%201.jpg

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10144/pile%20of%20potatoes%202.jpg
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10144/pile%20of%20potatoes%203.jpg

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10144/pile%20of%20potatoes%204.jpg

Note that the 2 piles of rice which are marked as do not use, keeps swapping position too.  The one which isnt marked as do not use doesnt move. And i suppose it s here because it s been teleported through the same process and thus will remain untagged like the one in the kitchen.

I hope my explanation is clear otherwise i ll try to make a video.

Thank you

K
Logged

historic_os

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Rollin'
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2016, 06:07:47 PM »

Hey!

Here is a screenshot:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10144/Capture%20plein%20%C3%A9cran%2022102016%20151843.jpg...
it seems, from what i understand by your description, that you are having is having too many supplies provided to your stockpile.
what you could do is set the belt with supplies next to the destination stockpile and have a pusher(configured to take these resources) redirecting items to your small stockpile. that way youll end up having always items to fill that small stockpile + 1 stack on the belt next to the pile and one more in the pusher standby(overall 2 extra stacks near your stockpile). something like that - https://i1.someimage.com/62U9J55.png.

its not ideal but thats the best solution atm. im currently actively working on another component which will be a "pusher" that lets you config which items and how many of them to send outside from a stockpile to another one. that will completely solve this specific problem.
the ETA on that is somewhere in the next day if all goes well

regarding the question on steam not being able to interact with items on belt - this is in order to prevent haulers from trying to haul from the belt. items will allow back once reaching a destination or when they are being detected as stuck

i thought resources were telepoting but they are just not showing cuz they are stuck in the wall roller
yeah, the in-wall unit needs better graphic representation of items in it, ill be working on it soon after the pusher component.


thanks for the feedback!

KTVSUN

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #12 on: October 22, 2016, 06:58:40 PM »

Thank you for your quick reply.

So i experimented with a new setup to avoid belts feeding into belts.

It works fine but.. you see that pile of corn? it was forbidden until it reached that last spot where it is waiting in front of the zone. It vant get to the zone because the zone is full. Once it reached this spot it became unforbidden.

edit: forgot the link
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10144/new%20setup.jpg

I m not complaining, i ll just keep on experimenting and posting wierd or unexpected behaviours.

I ll give a try to your advice in the previous post.

K
Logged

KTVSUN

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #13 on: October 22, 2016, 07:05:35 PM »

Ok last update and i stop bothering you.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10144/working.jpg

I first added a zone at same priority to the selected tiles but the stuff as still getting untagged as do not touch inside the wall and i cant place a zone inside the wall.

So i removed the wall and added the whole of the belt as stockpile and now everything is fine.

K
Logged

historic_os

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Rollin'
    • View Profile
Re: [A15] Industrial Rollers - Free your haulers!
« Reply #14 on: October 23, 2016, 06:00:10 AM »

no problem always looking for more feedback and ideas!
as mentioned before, im currently working on a puller that will take items from stockpiles, it will have a setting to "take until stockpile X is full" and should handle small stockpiles just like these near the chef.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 14