Ludeon Forums

Ludeon Forums

  • April 21, 2019, 10:37:50 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9

Author Topic: [A11] Auto-hunt Beacon v2.3 (2015-06-18)  (Read 61507 times)

Carry

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
[A11] Auto-hunt Beacon v2.3 (2015-06-18)
« on: January 03, 2015, 08:30:55 AM »


   Auto-hunt Beacon



Description:
Automated designation for hunting, harvesting and chopping wood.

Modder:

Download:

Prerequisites (as of v2.0):
How to install:
  • Unzip the contents and place them in your RimWorld/Mods folder
  • Activate the mod in the mod menu in the game

Description:
The beacon designates animals for hunting, wild plants for harvesting and trees for chopping wood. Only mature plants and trees are designated.
The calculations of available resources changed. The beacon now uses the in-game counter. Resources (wood, corpses, ...) not in storage (stockpiles, hoppers) don't count. (Meat: raw meat + meat from corpses; Plants: only wild plants)

Features:
  • Individual threshold1) values for each designation (global)
  • Thresholds can be enabled or disabled (local)
  • Individual range2) for each designation (local)
  • Choose which animals, plants and trees are targeted (local)
  • Option to unforbid animal corpses (global)
  • Option to exclude human meat from calculations
  • Option to clear areas around wind turbines. Trees are immediately cut (global)

(1): The beacon stops designating if the available amount reaches the upper threshold. It restarts if the amount drops below the lower threshold.
(2): Range is displayed if the corresponding tab is open

Notes/Issues:
  • Displayed radius has in-game maximum (56) - doesn't affect range

Planned features:
  • Change name
  • (?) Limit function to line of sight

Changelog:
Code: [Select]
(Rolling changelog)

(Version 2.3)
[UPDATED] Update to Alpha 11

(Version 2.2)
[FIXED] Small UI bugs

(Version 2.1)
[FIXED] No longer counting rotten corpses
[UPDATED] Changed calculations for wood, plants from minimun yield to average
[UPDATED] Update to Alpha 10

(Version 2.0)
[ADDED] Harvesting
[ADDED] Chopping wood
[ADDED] Stuff
[REMOVED] Other stuff

(Version 1.1)
[UPDATED] Update to Alpha 9

(Version 1.0)
[REMOVED] Hard-coded maximum range
[ADDED] Inspecor tab for settings
[ADDED] Option to exclude human meat
[ADDED] Option to limit calculations to meat from targeted animals
[UPDATED] Calculations are done once a day
[UPDATED] Calculations only consider meat and corpses in storage

(Version 0.9.2)
[ADDED] Hunt boomrats option
[FIXED] Various bugs

(Version 0.9.1)
[ADDED]   Meat forecast
[ADDED]   Upper threshold
[ADDED]   Display radius
[ADDED]   Status indicator on beacon texture
[ADDED]   Command icon labels
[UPDATED] Exclude boomrats
[UPDATED] All beacons share thresholds - activation remains separate
[UPDATED] Command icon textures

(Version 0.9.0)
Renamed version v0.9 - no changes

(Version 0.9)
Initial release for Alpha 8

[attachment deleted due to age]
« Last Edit: June 24, 2015, 11:05:16 AM by MarvinKosh »
Logged

Romi

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2015, 08:36:40 AM »

Well this is very usefull!Finnaly i don't have to select every animal for hunt! Thanks Carry!
Logged

Goo Poni

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 437
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2015, 08:58:56 AM »

If it can activate itself when supplies of meat run low, a check to look at nearby animals and find out how much meat they will give then designate enough animals to get the colony to a defined amount would be a wicked addition. If that's possible anyway.
Logged

mbos14

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2015, 09:22:19 AM »

good idea will still wait a while to use it but its on the list for things to add in my mod folder.
Logged

Igabod

  • Planetologist
  • ****
  • Posts: 1099
  • Survival Expert
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2015, 09:48:10 AM »

The texture should be something that can't be mistaken for something else. I recommend a simple sign with the words Hunting Zone on it. Or you could create one sign for each animal type and restrict the code to only hunt animals of the type for that sign. In which case you could just make a sign that has a black silhouette of the specific animal on it. Also, does this beacon display a radius for how much of an area it covers? I definitely plan on trying this out on my next game. I'm glad someone finally did this.

Rikiki

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 960
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2015, 03:24:48 PM »

For the line of sight feature, you could simply use this line before designating an animal:
Code: [Select]
if (Find.FogGrid.IsFogged(animal.Position) == false)
{
    // Designate(animal);
}

Carry on the good job Carry! ;)

Xiupan

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 38
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2015, 05:40:26 PM »

Yes! Great idea! :)
Logged

ItchyFlea

  • Who's a good kitty?
  • Administrator
  • Planetologist
  • *****
  • Posts: 1907
  • Psychotic Squirrel
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2015, 06:13:41 PM »

Nice mod. I look forward to the animal selection feature. (I hate hunting boomrats.)
Logged
All my mods are licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International
Ask for permission before using in ModPacks

Click here for a list of the mods I've created

Carry

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9.0 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2015, 05:56:09 AM »

I made some cosmetic changes to the first post.

Also, does this beacon display a radius for how much of an area it covers?
Not yet. The easy way didn't work. The in-game function (used by lamps) is tied to the definition of an object. So all beacons would show the same radius.
Logged

Loki88

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 512
  • Evil Muffalo
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9.0 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2015, 08:33:41 AM »

I made some cosmetic changes to the first post.

Also, does this beacon display a radius for how much of an area it covers?
Not yet. The easy way didn't work. The in-game function (used by lamps) is tied to the definition of an object. So all beacons would show the same radius.

I wonder if there's a way to "borrow" the radius display from recipes?
Logged

FridayBiology

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 505
  • I may or may not be George Calombaris
    • View Profile
    • https://www.youtube.com/user/FridayBiology
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9.0 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2015, 08:56:17 AM »

Love :3
Logged
Yes another god damn youtuber.
 https://www.youtube.com/user/FridayBiology

evrett33

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9.0 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2015, 01:29:45 PM »

kool idea! does it need power or have some sort of drawback..time is a resource in rimworld and you shouldnt take time spent setting up hunting without taking from something else.
Logged

DarknessEyes

  • Colonist
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9.0 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2015, 02:22:17 PM »

Shouldn't the beacon activate ONLY "on low meat threshold." when you have the limit active?

The limit is 0, 50 or 100 and i set it to 50 (yes its active) but I'm already over 500 units of meat in my freezer and the beacon keeps sending my guys to hunt...
Logged
De Surgeries
https://ludeon.com/forums/index.php?topic=18976.0
Adds 26 new surgeries to Rimworld.

Iwillbenicetou

  • Tester
  • Colonist
  • **
  • Posts: 583
  • Mods are my lifeline
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9.0 (2015-01-03)
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2015, 03:02:33 PM »

Wait, all those useless assassin's now have a chance in my colony! Now you have to hunt. No excuses!
Logged
Mod Help! The basics on how to download mods!

Carry

  • Drifter
  • **
  • Posts: 30
  • Refugee
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] (Alpha 8) Auto-hunt Beacon v0.9.1 (2015-01-05)
« Reply #14 on: January 05, 2015, 07:20:41 AM »

Update ...

The beacon can now stop on a upper threshold.

does it need power or have some sort of drawback..time is a resource in rimworld and you shouldnt take time spent setting up hunting without taking from something else.
No, it doesn't need power. The beacon is more part of the user interface than the colony.
Maybe I turn it into a more 'realistic' animal-tracking-radar-thing, that needs power or even a manned central console. But for now I just hope hunting zones become available in the vanilla game.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2015, 07:50:21 AM by Carry »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9